750 N. Murphy Road
Murphy, TX 75094
Phone: (469) 752-8600
Fax: (469) 752-8601
View Map

SITES

Document_bw Academic - Languages Other Than English

Link16 K12 Permalink
http://k12.pisd.edu/mcmillen-high-school/contributions/9936-academic-languages-other-than-english
Info16 Contribution Information

Contributed on January 20, 2012 03:02 PM

Related to McMillen High School

Languages Other Than English (LOTE)

Language learning at McMillen High School is an interactive experience that is focused on performance and communication (writing and speaking).

The following languages are offered at MHS: Spanish 1, 2/2 Honors, and 3/3 Honors; French 1, 2/2 Honors, 3 Honors; German 1 & 2/2 Honors; Chinese 1 & 2/2 Honors; American Sign Language 1 & 2; Latin 1 & 2 Honors (available online only).

McMillen high school offers 3 different course selections for students interested in German. German 1 and German 2 are split levels for beginner to intermediate-low German language learning. Students are introduced to German language and grammar through discovery methods and follow the PACE model of grammar acquisition. German 2 honors challenges students to be more self-guided in their language discovery and expected to practice their oral communication skills with more fluency than the regulars level.


Lauren Gibson
Languages Other Than English Department Chair
Spanish
469.753.8627
Lauren.Gibson@pisd.edu

Frances Allday
French
469.753-8655
Frances.Allday@pisd.edu

Cynthia Bell American Sign Language (ASL)
469.753.8611
Cynthia.Bell@pisd.edud

Mark Brown
Spanish
469.753.8613
Mark.Brown@pisd.edu

Jaye Chavez
Spanish
469.753.8616
Jaye.Chavez@pisd.edu

Xenia Garcia
Spanish
469.753.8635
Xenia.Garciamcclung@pisd.edu

Meng-Yu Liao
Chinese
469.753.8648
Meng-Yu.Liao@pisd.edu

Inga Miller
German
469.753.8675
Inga.Miller@pisd.edu


Back to Academics

Request Update or Report Inappropriate Content

  •  
  •  
  •  
* = required