Accountability,Community & Student Engagement

750 N. Murphy Road
Murphy, TX 75094 | View Map
Ph: 469-752-8600 Fax: 469-752-8601

  

SITES

Document_bw Academic - Languages Other Than English

Worldglobe
Link16 K12 Permalink
http://k12.pisd.edu/mcmillen-high-school/contributions/9936-academic-languages-other-than-english
Info16 Contribution Information

Contributed on January 20, 2012 03:02 PM

Related to McMillen High School

Languages Other Than English (LOTE)

Welcome to the LOTE Department at McMillen High School.

McMillen’s modern language classrooms provide students with state of the art digital recording labs to help students meet goals of effectively communicating in their second language. Students are required to complete 2 consecutive years of a second language (2 years of middle school French and Spanish count as 1 year), and 3 years are required to graduate on the Plano ISD recommended plan. Several languages offer students the opportunity to become members of nationally affiliated honor societies, and compete in regional, state, and national competitions. We currently have active ASL, French, and German Clubs.

Did you know...

-Texas children need second language fluency in order to be competitive in the 21st century.

-Students of foreign language score statistically higher on standardized tests conducted in English.

-Students who average 4 or more years of foreign language study scored higher on the verbal section of the SAT than those who had studied 4 or more years on any other subject area. (1992 report consistent with College Board profiles of previous years.)

-Students of foreign languages have access to great number of career possibilities and develop a deeper understanding of their own language and other cultures.

-Children who receive second language instruction are more creative and better at solving complex problems.

Texans fluent in other languages enhance U.S. economic competitiveness abroad, improve global communication, and maintain national, political and security interest.


Jaye Chavez
Languages Other Than English Department Chair
Spanish 1
469.753.8616
Jaye.Chavez@pisd.edu

Molly Carter
Spanish 1, 2, & McMillen Volleyball & Basketball
469.753.8691
Molly.Carter@pisd.edu

Mark Brown
Spanish 2, 2H, 3H, & McMillen Wrestling
469.753.8613
Mark.Brown@pisd.edu

Xenia Garcia McClung
Spanish 2, 2H, & 3
469.753.8635
Xenia.Garciamcclung@pisd.edu

Frances Allday
French 1, 2, & 2H
469.753-8655
Frances.Allday@pisd.edu

Cynthia Bell
American Sign Language (ASL) 1 & 2
469.753.8611
Cynthia.Bell@pisd.edu

Meng-Yu Liao
Chinese 1, 2, & 2H
469.753.8648
Meng-Yu.Liao@pisd.edu

Inga Miller
German 1, 2, & 2H
469.753.8675
Inga.Miller@pisd.edu


Back to Academics

Request Update or Report Inappropriate Content

  •  
  •  
  •  
* = required